Results of the Justice and Conventionality competition announced. San José, Costa Rica, August 29, 2016

Fecha: (9/6/2016 11:01:16 AM)

IMG_7802 (450).jpg

San José, Costa Rica. The winning institutions of the Justice and Conventionality competition were announced on August 29, 2016 at an event held during the IIHR Interdisciplinary Course on Human Rights. This year’s first place went to the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court of El Salvador; second place was awarded to the Second Chamber of the Supreme Court of Justice of the Judiciary of Mendoza, Argentina and third place went to the Constitutional Court of Colombia. Eva Marcela Escobar, Omar Palermo amd Luis Guillermo Guerrero Pérez, respectively, received the awards on behalf of the aformentioned institutions.

IIHR Executive Director, José Thompson, and Resident Director of GIZ (the agency of cooperation of Germany) in Costa Rica, Jürgen Popp, inaugurated the event. Mr. Thompson then spoke on the development of the concept of control of conventionality and its domestic application and Natalia Arce, Academic Assistant, summarized the decisions of the jury, which was comprised of Mariela Morales, Flavia Piovesan and Florentín Meléndez, well-known Latin American jurists.

The aforementioned representatives and the Salvadoran judge, Sidney Blanco, by means of a video, explained the reasons for their decisions and the how and why of the control of conventionality.

The “Justice and Conventionality” competition was established by the IIHR with the support of the “Regional International Law and Access to Justice in Latin America” program of the GIZ in order to promote the implementation and application of control of conventionality in the adminstration of justice in the States party to the American Convention on Human Rights that have accepted the jurisdiction of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights. The competition identifies and recognizes domestic decisions that are known for having applied control of conventionality on the basis of the American Convention and in the light of the jurisprudence of the Inter-American Court. 

Pictured in the photograph are Jorge Padilla, Jürgen Popp, José Thompson, Omar Palermo, Guillermo Guerrero and Natalia Arce.

The document (in Spanish) that contains the links to the texts of the winning decisions here.

Additional information (in Spanish) on the criteria of the jury and the awards here

Photo gallery