The International Centre for Parliamentary Studies honors the work of IIHR/CAPEL

Fecha: (1/16/2017 3:20:16 PM)

capel logo (400).jpg

San José, Costa Rica. The Inter-American Institute of Human Rights is pleased to announce that its Center for Electoral Promotion and Assistance (IIHR/CAPEL), a specialized human rights program, was presented with the International Institutional Engagement Award of the London-based International Centre for Parliamentary Studies (ICPS) for its contribution to the strengthening and legitimizing of electoral institutions and processes and for increasing the confidence of the citizenry in the procedures that are integral to representative democracy. The award was announced in a ceremony that took place on December 6, 2016 at the 13th International Electoral Affairs Symposium & Award Ceremony, held in Maputo, Mozambique.

These significant achievements of IIHR/CAPEL –dealing with the fulfillment of political rights in the region, in accordance with Article 21 of the Universal Declaration on Human Rights and Article 23 of the American Convention on Human Rights-  included its work in favor of the strengthening of democracies and institutions in the Americas, its activities as the Executive Secretariat of the Associations of Electoral Bodies in the hemisphere, as a center of research and the creator of doctrine, as an organization working with specialized NGOs in the area of political rights and as a center of education and training, among other important tasks.

The award was conferred by an independent jury, comprised of distinguished entities in the electoral field, such as the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), Venice Commission, International Centre for Electoral Psychology (ICEP), Electoral Tribunal of the Judiciary of the Federation of Mexico (TEPJF), Centre for Electoral Systems Development, Reforms and Trainings (Georgia) and Coalition of Domestic Election Observers (Ghana).

In receiving this recognition, IIHR/CAPEL joins a prestigious group of persons and institutions honored by the ICPS, such as Jimmy Carter, Madeleine Albright, Nelson Mandela, Prof. Attahiru Jega, who presided the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) of Nigeria and the TEPJF.

More information: