Special Meeting of the Protocol of Quito

Fecha: (9/4/2020 11:49:48 AM)

Re Extra del Proto de Quito.png

San José, Costa Rica. A Special Meeting of the Association of Electoral Bodies of South America (Protocol of Quito) began virtually on August 26, 2020 due to the COVID19 pandemic. The Meeting was covened by the Presidency of the Association, held by the Electoral Service (SERVEL) and the Electoral Qualifying Tribunal (TRICEL) of Chile. Ten other electoral bodies participated in the event: the National Civil Registry (RNEC) and the National Electoral Council (CNE) of Colombia; the National Electoral Council (CNE) and the Electoral Contentious Tribunal (TCE) of Ecuador; the National Office of Electoral Processes (ONPE), the National Jury of Elections (JNE) and the National Registry of Identification and Civil Status (RENIEC) of Peru; the Superior Tribunal of Electoral Justice (TSJE) of Paraguay; the Electoral Court (CE) of Uruguay; the Superior Electoral Tribunal (TSVE) of Brazil; the National Electoral Chamber (CNE) of Argentina; the Supreme Electoral Tribunal (TSE) of Bolivia and the National Electoral Council (CNE) of Venezuela. 

The Executive Secretariat of the Association, the Center for Electoral Promotion and Assistance (IIHR/CAPEL), introduced the activity. The heads of the institutions that hold the Presidency of the Protocol, Patricio Santamaría (SERVEL) and Rosa Egnem Saldías (TRICEL), welcomed the participants. Speaking with respect to administrative matters were Nicolas Farfán Namen (Delegate of the RNEC), Diana Atamaint (President of the CNE of Ecuador), Manuel Cox (National Head of ONPE), Bernardo Pachas (National Head of RENIEC), María Elena Wapenka (Magistrate of the TSJE), Wilfredo Penco (Vice President of the CE) and Patricio Santamaría (President of the SERVEL). There followed a plenary session. The first day was closed by the SERVEL.

The following day was devoted to jurisdictional matters and the speakers were Luis Roberto Barroso (President of the TSE of Brazil), Alberto Dalla Vía (President of the CNE of Argentina), Salvador Romero (President of the TSE of Bolivia), Jorge Dahm Oyarzún (Magistrate of the TRICEL), Hernán Penagos (President of the CNE of Colombia), Arturo Cabrera (President of the TCE of Ecuador), Ezequiel Baudelio Chávarry (Member of the JNE) and Indira Alfonzo (President of the CNE of Venezuela).

José Thompson (Director), Sofía Vincenzi (Coordinator) and the international advisors Tasheena Obando and Andrea Tercero participated on behalf of IIHR/CAPEL

Photo gallery